Espresso

by c-mama

Iced Caramel Macchiato

I love lattes. I spend way too much money at Dunkin’ Donuts and Starbucks buying caramel lattes and caramel macchiatos.

I knew I probably should get an espresso machine, however, I had been scared off of using the machines. Everything I had read showed me that one would need an expensive machine and years of “schooling” to get the right espresso.

On a trip to Walmart, I wandered into the small appliance section. I saw an espresso machine for around $90. I thought that maybe it was Debbie proof (meaning even though I’m scared of this machine, I can still get something good out of it) and I could stop spending gobs of money at Starbucks and Dunkin’ Donuts.

Hubby and I have a policy to not purchase anything over a certain amount without first talking to each other about it. So, I did not pick it up. When I got home, I did a little bit of research and sent an e-mail to hubby letting him know I was interested in purchasing a machine and that they have one at Walmart. He simply said, do the research and we’ll see.

I was unable to find much of anything about the machine at Walmart. Now, I know, in terms of espresso machines, $90 is cheap. However, it’s still $90. If I was going to plunk down that kind of change, I wanted to make sure the machine has something written up on it by others.

I went to Amazon, which is someplace I can go to see others’ comments on items. I found the Delonghi EC155. One comment focused my attention on this machine and was the thing that caused me to purchase it. The commenter said that what she liked most about this machine was that it took the E.S.E. Espresso Pods and that Starbucks sells their espresso in an E.S.E. Espresso Pod. Knowing that I wouldn’t have to mess with measuring, making sure my grounds are the right grind, and making sure I tamped it right took the pressure of making the “perfect cup of espresso” off my shoulders.

Hubby said that as long as I did the research, he was happy with whatever I chose, knowing I wasn’t going to be spending a fortune on it.

Well, the machine came in on Wednesday. I had purchased the pods at Starbucks the day before so I was ready. I had also researched some recipes so I was ready when the machine came.

I pumped out my first iced caramel latte that night and I was so excited. I knew that my days of throwing away my money at Starbucks and Dunkin’ Donuts was pretty much over.

The only downside to this machine, and I am totally open to the idea that it’s user related, is the steam wand. It is not long enough to reach the milk in the frothing pitcher unless the pitcher is full and since milk expands when frothed, this was not going to work out. I also was unable to get my milk to the 140 degrees that is suggested. Since I’m drinking mostly iced drinks this is not an issue, yet. I will be buying a hand held frother and frothing my already warmed milk.

