16

by c-mama

On Saturday, my husband and I will be celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary.

I cannot think of our wedding anniversary without thinking of Hurricane Andrew. I remember it was the same year as our wedding. My shower was supposed to have been the weekend before Andrew showed up. I know, it’s a trifle thing in light of the devastation that Homestead, FL suffered, but I can’t seem to forget.

I had lived in Florida for 7 years and had not given hurricane season a second thought until Andrew. Was that because I was in high school and had “more important things to worry about”? Probably. But we had no hurricane action during those years. Not once did my dad have to put up shutters because of an impending storm.

But then came Andrew. Thanks to Andrew, it’s difficult for me to not face a hurricane without a little bit of trepidation. But, thanks to the Lord speaking through dreams about Hurricane Irene in 1999, that trepidation has been replaced with faith.

