Peace in the midst of a storm

by c-mama

First, I would ilke to start off admitting that I have been negligent in my Bible reading. I know that this is something between God and myself, but I really wanted to put it down here as well.

This morning I woke up and something changed. Instead of simply bringing my computer out to the table, I brought it and several books out to the table. I brought my Bible, Shepherd’s Rod 2008, John Paul Jackson’s “Inheriting the Fullness of God’s Names” and “I AM – 365 Names of God”. I also brought out “My Utmost Devotional Bible”. The problem I have with getting into the Word is that I feel like I need to start over at the beginning every time. My devotional Bible has a reading for every day and goes through the Old Testament, New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs with a devotion by Oswald Chambers. I have yet to make it though all the way. I get going and then stop. The problem is that when I get to it again, I feel as if I need to start over at the beginning, which discourages me from moving ahead. Today was different. I struggled but decided I would simply move on from the bookmarked point. I’m glad I did.

I have not been feeling well lately. Oh, physically and emotionally I’m fine. I just feel this storm brewing and I know it’s because of the upcoming elections. The media has stirred up so much anger and hatred in the Obama camp that if McCain wins, there’s going to be much unrest. I have been praying for peace to abound in this country, that civil unrest does not occur. But my heart is heavy with the knowledge of how divisive our country has become. The hatred flung back and forth is sickening.

Anyway, this is what I read from Oswald Chambers, taken from reading 55 and originally taken from “Place Help”.

Mark 4:35-41
The incident recorded in Mark 4:35-41 is not an incident in the life of a man, but in the life of God as man. This man asleep in the boat is God incarnate. Jesus had said to the disciples, “Let us cross over to the other side” but when the storm arose, instead of relying upon Him, they failed Him. The actual circumstances were so crushing that their common sense was up in alarm, their panic carried them off their feet, and in terror they awoke Him. When we are in fear, we can do nothing less than pray to God, but our Lord has the right to expect of those who name His Name and have His nature in them an understanding confidence in Him. Instead of that, when we are at our wits’ end we go back to the elementary prayers of those who do not know Him, and prove that we have not the slightest atom of confidence in Him and in His government of the world: He is asleep – the tiller is not in His hand, and we sit down in nervous dread. God expects His children to be so confident in Him that in a crisis they are the ones upon whom He can rely. A great point is reached spiritually when we stop worrying God over personal matters or over any matter. God expects of us the one thing that glorifies Him – and that is to remain absolutely confident in Him, remembering what He has said beforehand, and sure that His purposes will be fulfilled.

Now, this is not saying we are not to come to Him with our concerns. But, we are to think on how He has shown Himself strong in our lives before and remember that He will never leave us or forsake us. We are to stand on faith, knowing that He provided before, He will provide again.

So, I will remember that although these are going to be turbulent times, my refuge in in Christ alone. Proverbs 18:10 reminds me that the name of the LORD is a strong tower; the righteous run to it and are safe.

I know that God is not up in Heaven, pacing back and forth and wringing His hands in worry over what’s going on here. He IS, however, counting on His Church to be praying and interceding for this country and that God’s will be done here and that His Kingdom come. After we have done that, we need to rest in the knowledge that He is in control. And no matter what happens, no matter what ticket this country decides they want in power, God loves us, His Name is a strong tower and the righteous will run to it and be saved. Our Savior is not a political party nor is He the president of the United States. Our Savior is God Almighty, Creator of Heaven and Earth.

