Consider it pure joy

by c-mama

As I face today, Inauguration Day, I do so without much excitement. In fact, I wish that I could go back in time and somehow shake the Church to wake up and see the man they are so excited about to be president for what he is. He does not want to protect the life of the unborn, he does not want to protect the lives of those babies who survive abortion. He is wanting to fund those who want to snuff the life out of the defenseless, those we need to step in and protect.

I won’t get into the other reasons I don’t this this man is right to lead out country because those reasons are miles behind the abortion issue.

But our country has chosen it’s leader. Or, rather, they have allowed the media to choose our leader. Either way, they have spoken.

But as I sit here, wondering what today will bring and fighting back feelings of sadness and dread, I hear the still, small voice remind me to consider it pure joy.

James 1:2-8
2Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. 4Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. 5If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. 6But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. 7That man should not think he will receive anything from the Lord; 8he is a double-minded man, unstable in all he does.

I don’t want to fear and I don’t want to be sad. Christians need to be joyful and overcomers, not simply survivors. I don’t want to simply survive during this time. I want to be an overcomer.

During these next four years, I want to remember to pray for our president’s safety, to pray that the Lord change his heart. I also pray that the Church unify so we can all hear clearly from the Lord on how to pray for this nation.

My thoughts are scrambled, but I will try to walk in joy today. It shouldn’t be hard. The God of the universe loves me and desires to draw me close to Him. What else matters?