Sydney Victoria’s Australian Dream

by c-mama

I finally finished the blanket I made for my friends’ baby who is due the beginning of March.

Matt & Eileen went to Australian on their honeymoon. They loved it there and when they got pregnant and found out they were having a girl, they named her Sydney Victoria.

I already had a design in my head of a blanket I wanted to make for them. I would take the pattern from the Butterfly Garden afghan and then cross stitch her name in the center. I had also wanted to see if I could get a sketch of the Sydney Opera House in there.

I had some colors picked out in my head and those were confirmed when Eileen showed me a picture of the bedding they wanted to get for Sydney’s room. The opera house was confirmed when they told me that they had a view of the opera house everyday from their hotel room.

I used Caron Simply Soft in Raspberry and Off-White. I used Bernat Satin in a dark, forest green and white. I used a J Afghan hook to crochet the blanket.

I found a neat sketch of the Opera House that I graphed using knitpro.

The blanket was finally finished on Saturday, Jan 31 and I took it over to their house. They seemed very pleased with it and when we took it up to her room, we saw it was a great match to the paint.

The blanket measures 44″ x 57″.