Lacy Cowl

by c-mama

I don’t know how long ago it was. A year, maybe two. I normally write my dreams down. Ok, so I don’t write them down as often as I should. At least I remember this one. I was in a building that sits between two financial institutions here in town. From the day they built this section, this building was empty. In my dream, however, it was a library. Interesting since it sits on the perimeter of the library parking lot. Anyway, I’m in this building and it’s a library. Small, but a library. I’m sitting at a table crocheting. Shocker, I know. I was making a cylinder shaped item. But I did not know what it was. When I woke up from the dream I decided to crochet it. And I did. I still did not know what it was.

While surfing Etsy I found it. It was not the same pattern or color, but there it was. A cowl. So I set out to make a second one to sell on Etsy. I’m keeping the first. I may not wear it, but it was something I literally dreamed up. 🙂

My daughter and I went over to Michael’s. I had been wanting an excuse to get my hands on some Caron Spa so I picked up a few skeins. My daughter picked out the color, Misty Taupe. She’s got a thing for silver and thought this color was very close. I told her since she helped me pick out the color, I’d make her one as well using the same color.

I searched through my book 101 Stitches for Afghans and decided on stitch #95 and an I hook.

I really loved working with this yarn. It’s so silky, soft, and light. I had wanted to make this a scarf/hood/cowl/skirt. This one was a bit too big for my daughter to wear as a skirt and since she was the model, I scrapped that idea for this particular project.

I was quite happy with the results and my daughter liked it enough for me to make her one in a different stitch.

Lacy Cowl 9

Etsy listing